Busted lip

1 Mar

I’ve had the super obnoxious problem of a painfully chapped and split bottom lip for the past several weeks. I can’t sneeze, laugh or even floss without my lip splitting open—and what kind of life is that? I thought I was doing everything in my power to fix it, but it turns out I wasn’t.

Since I am a person who generally doesn’t drink enough water throughout the day, I figured it was dehydration. However, with few exceptions during the past two weeks, I’ve been going out of my way to drink more and more often. No luck.

Another possible culprit is the cold weather we’ve had recently, but it hasn’t been particularly dry, and this weekend the clouds opened up and dumped rain down on us, so I don’t think that’s the problem either.

I didn’t realize that cracked lips can be caused by a vitamin deficiency. A deficiency in vitamins A, B2, or C could all be the troublemaker: vitamin A keeps skin from being flaky and dry, B2 helps prevent mouth lesions, and C helps produce our collagen.

I think I’m probably good on the B2 front since I have fortified cereal most mornings and get the rest of what I need from all the dairy I’m eating. As for vitamin C, well, it’s blood orange season in Italy and that’s practically the only fruit in our basket right now. I guess that means I need to seek out more vitamin A. Of course all things related to liver are high in vitamin A, but so are all those pretty red and orange vegetables like bell peppers, carrots, and sweet potatoes. Time for a trip to the market!

Just to be sure, I think I’ll pay more attention to my intake of both vitamins A and B2 and see if there’s any improvement to my sorry state.

One Response to “Busted lip”

  1. Diana Legun March 2, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    Maybe a little fish oil would not be a mistake! Gel caps Fish Oil, Omega 3, 1000 mg. Cencentrated fish oil with 300 mg Omega 3-fatty acids. Supports healthy heart, joints brain and skin. 400 gelcaps from Kirkland. Want me to send you some?

Leave a Reply

