Where are my candy hearts?

16 Feb

Last night while I was trying to fall asleep with visions of Willy Wonka’s Candy Room in my head (thanks, Jon), it occurred to me that this Valentine’s Day was completely devoid of all the silly candy that is normally associated with the holiday.

That’s a good thing. I prefer to spend my sugar and fat credit on just about anything else. Most Valentine chocolate is pretty cheap, and I don’t care for the chalky candy hearts. Have they updated those since I last got them, by the way? I definitely had a “Fax me” in the last box I opened, which suggest that those specific hearts were at least ten years old and that this candy may be the only thing for the cockroaches to live on after a nuclear holocaust.

Now the creative team somehow has to find a way to fit “Friend me on Facebook” on the hearts. Double-sided printing?

I discussed with my Italian conversation partner the Valentine’s Day traditions in American classrooms, and she definitely thought there was some meaning lost in translation. Besides a few extra vendors carrying bushels of roses instead of trays of obnoxious keychains, there was nothing noticeably Valentine-y about Monday. Apparently Italy, a land filled with arguably the most lust-filled men in the world, gets enough loving the other 364 days out of the year.

One Response to “Where are my candy hearts?”

  1. Noel February 16, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Apparently they make candy hearts that say “Tweet Me” nowadays. They’re so current and with it! (Sorta)

Leave a Reply

