Digging out the old notebook and pen

15 Feb

While we were at the ball, one of Colin’s friends told me out of nowhere and to my great delight about a women’s studies class she’s taking this semester. It turns out that it fits into my work schedule, so I’m sitting in on it too!

I had so much fun taking the art history class last semester, but there was no denying that it was a fluff class offered to these over-worked students to add to their overall experience of living in Italy. This class, Multiculturalism and the Human Rights of Women, is definitely a real class.

Unfortunately the professor is going to be in New York for the next three weeks, and classes are obviously on hold until she returns, which will be right around the time Noel comes to visit. I think the plan when class resumes is to be discussing the Veil, which I’m really interested in hearing, so maybe Noel will agree to come to class with me that week before we head off on our adventures in the rest of Italy.

I’m really pleased to be able to take a class, especially a discussion class like this, with a bunch of the (mostly female) SAISers that I’ve gotten to know so far this year. I think it’ll really help fight against the feeling I sometimes have of feeling disconnected in this not-yet-real life I’m living here.

2 Responses to “Digging out the old notebook and pen”

  1. Patrick Cowsill February 15, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Valerie,

    Sounds cool. I took women’s studies as part of my MA in Taiwan, and ended up writing something about “foreign” men married to or dating Taiwanese women, and how these guys were affected. I was able to take it back to Taiwanese settlers marrying aboriginal woman, and the certain laws enacted to try to stop the practice. Good luck.

  2. Monique February 16, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    I love sitting in on classes 🙂 I’ve semi been sitting in on master’s French classes. And I’ve been learning German on my own, following the style I learned French. So it’s like I’m taking my own class haha.

    Good luck, I hope you get to enjoy it when the classes resume.

Leave a Reply

