Walking on water

5 Feb

About as close as I got to a gondola. (They're really expensive.)

Venice struck me as exactly how it looks in the movies, but now that I think about it, I haven’t seen too many movies set in Venice. It’s not how it’s represented in Vegas, that’s for sure, so the picture in my mind must just be from twenty-three years of picking up subtle cultural clues.

My point is, Venice looked precisely how I imagined it would. It was perfect.

Being surrounded by so much water made me bubble over with joy. Colin laughed at me bouncing on my toes and giggling at the boats.

We had blue skies and pleasant temperatures, and since almost no one travels in January, there weren’t even too many tourists to compete with. We didn’t go into any of the museums or churches since I’m planning on visiting again in a couple months with a friend, and I really just wanted to be outside and stroll.

My poor digital camera cannot properly capture the beautiful colors of the marble of St. Mark's Basilica behind me.

Stroll we did, to areas that Venice’s tourists never find. That’s what happens when you have a crowd-averse travel buddy. We found the public gardens and lunched in a trattoria packed wall to wall with construction workers. What was on the menu? Bolognese sauce, of course!

It really is sinking.

We caught the 7 p.m. train back to Bologna with tired feet and one new souvenir to bring home.

2 Responses to “Walking on water”

  1. Mom February 6, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    Craig and I found Venice magical as well. In fact, we have a similar mask hanging on our wall.

  2. Bryan Schell February 8, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    I’m looking forward to visiting in a few weeks. Thanks for the preview!

Leave a Reply

