Cook book

21 Jan

I had what I think is a pretty good idea yesterday. It’s not an original idea or even one that I can take most of the credit for, but I present it here.

I’ve got a couple practically empty journals sitting on my side of the book shelf, and one very important thing in my life here that I’d like to compile: all of the cooking I’m doing. Just last week I tried to go back and collect all the links to cooking blogs and FoodNetwork.com and food52 that I’ve tested in our little white kitchen and put them onto a more permanent (than my memory, that is) Word document. What’s more permanent than that? An actual paper document.

Also, early this week I started going through Federica’s cook books after the baby goes down for her nap. They have this beautiful, only slightly markered-in, 12-volume cooking encyclopedia. English-Italian dictionary in hand, I’ve been sifting through them and scribbling things down. I can’t include those on a list of blog links! Nor can I do that with Jane’s bread and scone recipes, or the things we learned in the cooking class.

And that’s not to mention all the emails requesting recipes from back home. I had a nice little recipe box in Santa Barbara filled with 3×5 cards, but that got left behind in the move. The handful of those recipes that I’ve made here will have a place in the book, and they’ll probably all get there eventually.

I’m going to get back to sharing all of these things with you here; you still don’t know why I have a bag of turmeric! I’ve been making a lot of soups the last couple weeks, because really, what sounds better on a cold night?

2 Responses to “Cook book”

  1. Bryan Schell January 22, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    I am 100% in favor of a cookbook.

  2. Mom January 22, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Me too. Years from now it will remind you of your time in Bologna.

Leave a Reply

