Happy New Year from Bologna

2 Jan

Yes, Bologna. I’m not in California where I’d planned to be, where I’d like to be, but in Bologna, and things could be worse. I have some friends around, and with no roommates home I can leave the house a mess for days on end. Back in my natural habitat.

I haven’t been writing though because I truly wished I was home where I had said I would be. This is one more audience to whom I had to admit I messed up thinking I could outsmart the system and get everything I want. Cannot. Lesson learned, though: no more trying to beat the Man. And now I can get back to writing about the fun stuff.

Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day, and most of the days surrounding those were spent with the ten or so SAISers still in Bologna. We watched movies, made Mexican food, played Mafia, ordered in Indian food, drank too much wine, sang songs after some of that wine, went ice skating, danced in the streets, and once or twice rolled out of bed in time to meet for a cappuccino. Like I said, things could have been worse.

Father Time represented as a two-story-tall frog, awaiting the stroke of midnight on New Year's Eve, when he would go up in flames.

In four days things will be back to normal. Colin and the rest of SAIS will be back, I’ll be sitting with Ludo in the mornings, the stresses of everyday life will return and this break will feel ages away. I need to make a plan for this summer, refocus on what I’d like to do long term, and see if I can’t somehow fit those two together. If a source of income could be in that mix, I would be positively ecstatic! That said, if anyone has any connections to the public health community in Southern California, that’s what I’m currently interested in.

Buona Festa! Buon Natale! Buon Anno! May 2011 bring more happiness, health, laughter, friends, and good food.

Leave a Reply

