I must be missing something

15 Nov

I don’t like giving up on things. Well, certain things. I don’t like giving up on teams or school groups, on causes or bake-offs or anything I think I can win at. I don’t like giving up on books. I’ve done that twice now—once when I was in seventh grade and one of the major characters in a novel I was reading killed herself. I decided that was too much for me. The other time was a few weeks ago: I gave up on Catch-22.

Colin would ask me why I wasn’t laughing. He’d read over my shoulder or ask if I’d met Major Major yet. I could see that the story was ridiculous and absurd, but it didn’t make me laugh—it stressed me out. I found all sorts of other diversions besides Catch-22. Finally, I gave it up.

I followed Colin to his school’s library instead. Most of the works are nonfiction and on SAIS-related topics like economic systems, political systems, conflict, resolution, etc., etc. But there’s a small fiction section, and I picked up a collection of Mark Twain’s works in addition to a couple nonfiction titles that caught my interest, The Ethics of Food and Sex & Gender in Historical Perspective.

I get a good deal more time to read now, not just since we’ve arrived in Italy, but since I’ve started working in the mornings. I stay with just Ludo while Mati goes to school and both parents are at work, and since I know I have a book waiting for me, I look for any signs that she needs a nap. There’s always some reason.

So now I’m reading The Ethics of Food, but already I’m making a list of authors whose works I’ll try to pick up while I’m home: David Sedaris, Jhumpa Lahiri, Angela Carter, etc., etc. I’d like to get Earth, the Book by my favorite funnyman Jon Stewart, the sequels to Wicked by David Maguire, and the sequels to Dune, which I was unable to find after starting the series in Taiwan.

Anyone reading anything good? I’m definitely open to suggestions.

2 Responses to “I must be missing something”

  1. Monique November 16, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    I feel it’s a longshot that you haven’t yet read Running With Scissors but I just did and laughed. my. butt. off. Currently I’m reading F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night. I like it because I used to live in the area he’s describing.

    But yes, I hate when books suck. I’m surprised to hear that about Catch-22. I have it on my bookshelf waiting for me to read…

    • valerienicole November 16, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

      I haven’t yet read Running With Scissors! I was debating seeing the movie because of that very fact. I’ll add it to my list!

Leave a Reply

