I am sort of a house-girlfriend

7 Sep

I feel like I should be resisting that as a modern, educated woman, but at the moment, I haven’t got a whole lot going on that occupies my mind. I tend to wind up in the kitchen a lot.

Partly it’s just nice having a full-sized kitchen again with four burners and an oven. And there are lovely little stalls just a bike ride away where I can get all sorts of produce.

I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for Colin and all his hard work, so I figure I ought to feed him at least. And when Kristen doesn’t have other plans, she often joins us. I owe a lot to foodnetwork.com for making me a very popular person in my three-person apartment. It’s not always just the three of us—math-study-group numbers have been steady rising on nights that I’ve cooked eggplant.

Eggplant parmesan towers, in honor of the towers of Bologna

Delicious! And they only had to wait until 10 p.m. to eat!

Tonight's meal: grilled eggplant with mozzarella and a roasted tomato-basil relish. Mushroom couscous for the side.

Cleaning is a consequence of cooking, so some days I feel like I spend a solid half of my day in the kitchen. I love it; I just feel slightly traitorous.

6 Responses to “I am sort of a house-girlfriend”

  1. musingsandmarvels September 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    These photos are making my mouth water. I’m jealous of your three person household 🙂

  2. Monique September 9, 2010 at 4:19 am #

    Dinner at 10?? That’s like snack time in Europe 🙂 I’m sure they’ve waited longer!

    Anyways, those look fabulous. I might have to google the recipes.

  3. Patrick Cowsill September 9, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    Well done, Valerie. That eggplant looks incredible.

    Just out of curiosity, why did you desert the old blog?

    • valerienicole September 9, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      I didn’t think the title matched my new town, and by the time I saw you can change the title, I’d gotten so attached to the idea of starting a new blog… Silly, I know.

  4. Mom September 9, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Yum-O! Sunset magazine’s got nothing on you!

    • valerienicole September 9, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Well, I bet they wouldn’t set up their photo shoots under fluorescent lighting, but you’ve gotta work with what you’ve got.

Leave a Reply

